The Structure of the Student Government Association

The Student Government Association is comprised of two branches of government: the Executive Branch and Legislative Branch. Both branches work in tandem with the help of the Student Government Association’s Advisor to serve the student body. In order to maintain relevance, the incoming SGA administration sets platforms and goals for the up and coming school year. These platforms and goals will be different each year, but are built upon the mission, vision, and values of the SGA which helps to maintain consistency. The UBSGA is empowered to achieve its goals and platforms financially by the allocation of a portion of student fee monies from the Allocations Board from which it must budget for the year’s expenditures.

Executive Branch

The Executive Board consists of a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer, and Chief of Staff (See Executive Board duties for more information). The Executive Board is responsible for representing the student body within the shared governance of the university as well as to the university administration. The Executive Board is also responsible for upholding the SGA constitution, carrying out SGA policies, and enforcing the laws of the SGA.

Legislative Branch

The legislative branch is the SGA Senate. The Senate is comprised of eighteen senators - eight graduate and eight undergraduate representatives (senators), and two members from the Freshman class. The Senators meet with student constituents weekly and use this constituent input to formulate SGA and university policy in accordance with the SGA constitution. The Senate provides students a voice on campus, welcoming UB students to weekly Senate meetings and to participate in senate committee meetings. 

SGA on Facebook

Event Calendar

« April June »
May 2019

See Full Calender

Our Links

Powered by Orgsync